I, Nerd

Damnit – how much longer does one have to wait until he can watch Watchmen? I was reading, a while back, that it might have been postponed, but I’m sure that won’t happen because the “hype” is growing and there’s no way this movie can be pushed back because comic hungry nerds, such as me, are attempting to suffice themselves with other comic book movies that aren’t taking the cake.

In other Ennui news, I was catching up with Skepchick yesterday because I stopped reading a lot of the blogs I loved because I grew lazy. I regret doing this because it means I almost missed this zinger that had me in stitches. It’s a response made by one Andrés Diplotti on the subject of a spokesman of some diocese on the subject of garden gnomes. It seems that these “unnatural creatures” have no place in the church yards. Andrés Diplotti had this to say:

Unlike gods, which, as everybody is aware, are natural creatures. If I remember correctly, there are three identified species in a single genus: Deus pater, D. filius and D. spiritus ssp. sanctus. The last common ancestor seems to be D. iehova, which was once found in Middle Eastern deserts but is now thought to be extinct (Nietzsche, 1883). It has been argued that they should be reclassified as Homo, since apparently they can breed with H. sapiens. But others have countered that such an occurrence has happened only in a single, poorly documented ocasion, and furthermore, there is no indication that the offspring was fertile. (source)

It’s comments like that that just make my day chipper and brighter.

UPDATE: And this just disturbs me:

Huseyin Kalkan, the pro-Kurdish Democratic Society Party mayor of Batman, has accused the Batman movie producers of using the city’s name without permission, reports Variety.

“There is only one Batman in the world,” Kalkan said. “The American producers used the name of our city without informing us.”

It seems like George W. Bush and Sarah Palin aren’t alone in the world – there are other stupid leaders out there.

Leave a Reply

