This is why I’d choose them, if I had to choose a religion

I wrote a rant about Prop. 8 a couple of days ago, and now I just read The Buddhist Blog’s post on the same subject. I won’t go into too much detail about the post itself, except that I agree with it. I’m posting a quote here (the last paragraph, actually) but it links to the entire post, so you can hit and read the original. Enjoy it.

How twisted have some religious veins become that some people are using them to deny people basic happiness and love in a world that is so full of suffering. Why would we want to cause even more suffering by denying people the right to marry the person that they want to share their life with? Shouldn’t we be applauding people who want to commit to honor and cherish each other in this world of hatred, isolation and division? Without love for each other I ask, “What chance do we have as a species?”

Leave a Reply

