Okay, who told the blind people?

Offensive? Really? It’s a movie, for goodness sake. If you haven’t heard (or seen), the movie Blindness is in some hot water causing the National Federation for the Blind to stand up and protest because the movie views them under harsh light. Read the following statement, taken from Nerve.com:

Marc Maurer, the president of the NFB, has said that “The movie portrays blind people as monsters, and I believe it to be a lie,” adding, ““The National Federation of the Blind condemns and deplores this film, which will do substantial harm to the blind of America and the world. Blind people in this film are portrayed as incompetent, filthy, vicious, and depraved. They are unable to do even the simplest things like dressing, bathing, and finding the bathroom. The truth is that blind people regularly do all of the same things that sighted people do.” (source)

Okay, Marc Maurer, if you can read this or if someone made it into Braille for you (sorry, again, for the offensive joke, but you should know already that I can be an asshole with stupid people), you got to understand something and that’s, oh I don’t know, THIS IS A FUCKING MOVIE! It’s not factual. And besides, from what I understand of the film, these people could see before they were blind. I’m pretty sure all the skills acquired from the vision impaired citizens of this world weren’t genetically encoded in their genes with their birth – I mean, that’s like saying homosexuals are born gay (which they are despite with the Bible belted say). No the characters in the movie are, guess what, made blind, hence their super ability to learn Braille, super sonic hearing, walking around without bumping into things, etc. haven’t kicked in – I’ll have to assume that it’s only encoded on those who are born blind.

Secondly, and I can’t stress this enough, are the blind diminishing the concentration camps the Jews were put in during World War II, because to me that’s what it sounds like. The newly blinded characters are quarantined because of their malady. In such harsh conditions – considering the trailers tell me it’s some government conspiracy – they are forced into, I’m sure being clean, cautions, capable, come with the business. Don’t you agree that this feel like Marc Maurer is stating that it was the Jews’ fault for being so fucking thin, malnourished, dirty, incapable of standing up agains the Nazis, because, again, it feels like he is. 

Now I haven’t seen the movie, so I can’t give you a grounded argument that cannot be turned over. But it’s a movie. It doesn’t relate to reality. 

And on that note, I finally saw the Iron Man movie. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. I wasn’t a fan of the comic book, so I came with a cleaner slate than most nerds. What I did like about the movie is the lack of Iron Man. I think the fact that he only was Iron Man during  – what, like two scenes plus the prototypes, so like four? – made the movie slightly more believable. I wouldn’t mind seeing a sequel to the movie, just as long as they don’t melt it like they did with some other Marvel movies that shouldn’t have made it. I just got to say I loved this movie way more than I did Fantastic Four.

Leave a Reply

