Summer Passing

My great uncle passed away last Wednesday at 7 pm in a bed at a McAllen (Texas) hospital. He was one of the last surviving members of his generation, leaving behind his sister (my maternal grandfather’s side of the family). He was a favored person in my family due to some allegations from when I was a kid. Nothing was ever proved, and I would rather not lead this post into that discussion of which the doors have been closed on long ago. 

I know very little about my family’s history because no one ever wrote anything down, nor did anyone ever tell many stories except the tall tales and superstitions. My great aunt is the only surviving member of my grandfather’s siblings that I know of. Tomorrow is my uncle’s funeral in which I will act as poll bearer because the men in that side of the family are few, or live far away. There is no indication that all relatives will arrive to this man’s funeral because of the past or because of travel time. However, it is for certain that I will see family members I haven’t see since 1999, the two year mark of my grandmother’s passing. When she passed, so did every reason we had to keep in contact with my mother’s side of the family. We became ghosts and they became strangers. It’s a sad world we live in, and I’m just the bearer of its burdens. 

I don’t think I’ve seen this man in years. To be frank, I’m not even sure if the last time I saw him was in high school or in junior high. After the incident, he became a stranger in our house. And sometimes I wonder if I will see my cousin Armando and if he would recognize me, or let alone remember me. I also wonder if Armando’s mother – let me make this clear, I believe, if memory serves me right, that Armando was an adopted child, and not biological as both his parents (my great uncle being a sort of stepfather to him) were old – will make it as well. My great aunt noted she wanted nothing to do with that woman and that she probably wouldn’t be coming to the services.

Tomorrow will also mean the first time I step inside a church since I was with Jessica (I note here that when I say church, I mean from a religion that has been around for years and years, not like the Mormon church which is just a caricature of religion which says a lot considering that all religions are just caricatures of something else). I should borrow someones camera. As morbid as it sounds, the burial will take place in Donna’s cemetery. I’d like to take pictures of the place.

Leave a Reply

