“The tongue and cock and hand and a–hole holy!” (Allen Ginsberg)

Last night was the first poetry reading hosted by yours truly and El Senor. It was the inaugural reading held at Cuppy’s Coffee. We are now known, for the meantime, as The Nameless Poetry Group and we will later on have a name. A friend and member suggested The Gypsie Rose Poetry Group, which I don’t have a problem with, but El Senor showed favor to both The Nameless and this new suggestion.

In the audience this time around was Lady Mariposa, Bel, Jyg, Richie and his family, Ronnie and a two listeners. A small group, I’ll admit, but sadly not all those who I had invited turned out. Hopefully next month, as I announced I would like to this as a monthly reading to get the cobwebs out. I did suggest we’d do an “Other People’s Poetry” reading, but call it “I wish I wrote that poem” night. The idea came to me when I was listening to Howl by Allen Ginsberg on night (I had about 25 minutes to kill) and that it wouln’t be such a bad idea if we did something like that. Lady Mariposa, El Senor and Ronnie all agreed. I said that the  poem Howl will be the main feature having four different readers (possibly more) taking a part. I want to do “Footnote to Howl” as well, but that will most likely be read by me and only me (it’s short).

But the night went well. I’m not sure if the next one will be hosted at Cuppy’s as well, or if we’ll continue travel along the venues given to us. McAllen? Art Expressions? These will be taken into consideration, but for the meanwhile, I’m going to take Dr. Anne Estevis’s advice and suggestion of keeping it in Edinburg.

Leave a Reply

