I ain’t dead yet, bitches.

Hurricane Dolly finally landed on the Valley, knocking me out of power and cable from 2pm yesterday to 12pm today (really, I’m not kidding). Minimal damage across the area. A tree was rooted and covered the entire cross section of 15th and Van Week. Another one lied on the floor a block away from 16th. Flood waters on Van Week were normal. After the city’s done, there won’t be any evidence of Hurricane Dolly, who was down graded last night to a Tropical Storm.

My front yard is ravaged. Most potted plants aren’t potted anymore. My back yard is now missing half a mesquite tree, and the electrical cord – oddly enough not fixed by AEP (go figure) – hangs down. I’ll have to call them in later tomorrow because they are fixing on getting half of Hidalgo County their power back.

Today is my niece’s 2nd birthday. I’m glad we still have a house to celebrate it in.

Leave a Reply

