“Ocean pulls me close” (Nine Inch Nails)

and when the day arrives
I’ll become the sky
and I’ll become the sea

and the sea will come to kiss me
for I am going
home

nothing can stop me now

I was standing by the shore, that much I remember from my dream. The waves resonating in my ears, I hear the crying of a child somewhere from underneath. My gut tells me it’s my child and that I should swim out and save her, but somewhere in my heart it’s too late to step into the water.

The next, I’m drowned by the wave, taken off the shore and set adrift into the vast ocean. The world feels smaller when you’re drowning. I can see the light of the sun shimmering above the translucent blue. I feel myself drifting in euphoria. Ballads begin to play.

Leave a Reply

