“Learning to speak with love again” (Thich Nhat Hanh)

I made a promise to not let go
Our tug of war has only made me want you more
Steeped in hard luck and doomed to roam
My love is braver than you know
My forefathers they worked this land
And I was schooled in the tyranny of nature’s plans
Dressed in thunder a cloud came round
In the shape of a lion a hand came down

Damn this valley
Damn this cold
Take so long to let me know
It’s plant and reap and plow and sow
But tell me will it grow

You see me here, writing, thinking, pondering, contemplating, but my mind is actually with her. Right now all the things, each event in my life, has been pushing for a moment of growth and it has been retarded in the past by other forces. And while that path I chose has hurt people, I think it’s the best for me and all my life I have to do what was right for me before I settled down and did what was best for others.

There is guilt in my actions, but I’m not going it to let it ruin my happiness. I’m happy. After a whole year of feeling miserable, I am happy.

Leave a Reply

