“Love me when all desire is gone” (Ana Castillo)

Now the neighborhood’s cracked and torn
The kids are grown up but their lives are worn
How can one little street
Swallow so many lives?

I was listening (and singing along to) this song on the way home from Waco. I love the song. Replace street with city and you have Edinburg.

A lot of people have tried to convince me to leave the Valley and move to Austin, TX as if there is some unknown utopia that I’m not aware of smack in the middle of capital city. I called Philosopher there on my way to Waco. I missed her and the first phone call was cut short due to The Professor’s phone call. The city is overwhelmingly familiar. Austin, TX, I am convinced, is the Rio Grande Valley smashed into a city. The vile people there carry a stench that pollutes the air. It’s a cancer far worse than that of the Valley. I hate it.

And while my original intention was to bash Austin and San Antonio, I mentioned Philosopher and I can’t write anything I was going to write before. Alas, that is the life of a person who writes these things off the top of his head.

Leave a Reply

